Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


And the days that they share are the stars in their crown

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-02-14

11:28 a.m.
Oh I used to be disgusted, and now I try to be amused

I was having a melancholy day. But then I called GEICO and that all changed. It seems that my little buddy that hit me had not called them back. I suggested they try again. Still no response. And then I said that I would try contacting her. So I called her work number and when her voicemail said I could press �0� if I needed additional help, I thought I might give that a try. That took me to another voicemail box, in which I left a business-like message indicating that she needed to get in touch with GEICO. On her personal voicemail, I left a slightly more ominous message, mentioning the fact that she had broken a couple of laws, I was involving both the police and my lawyer, and that she really needed to get in touch with GEICO. Still very business like.

This combination of messages definitely got some results. Several minutes later I got a call from GEICO indicating the woman had contacted them and does not want me to call her again. She gave a description of the occurrence that was much more benign, though still clearly her fault. Apparently, she also said that I threatened to have my boyfriend beat her up.

Obviously, this is false. If I actually felt that I needed someone to beat her up, I would do it myself, not ask someone else. What a crock! (Note: For the record, I have never beaten anyone up. I have never swung my fist with the intent to cause harm. While I have taken kickboxing, we never sparred. I do enjoy hitting other people with armor on but I view that more as a sport. From a personal standpoint, I have always found that a really vivid threat removes any need to actually follow through with it. And I certainly did not leave one on her voicemail.)

So now GEICO has assigned a �special� claims adjustor to handle this case. It seems that they had incorrectly written down her tag number, so they are rerunning it. And they are (finally!) contacting my witnesses. Unfortunately, the adjustor told me that if she admits that it was a case of roadrage, her insurance will not cover it and I will be screwed. (I maintain a very high deductible, as I have never actually caused an accident.) They advised me to contact the police, which I did, so that if she attempted anything else, I would have a record of the problem.

Well, I am sure this story will continue in future days.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases