Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


My aim is true

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-02-10

9:11 a.m.
And the days that they share are the stars in their crown

The woman who intentionally hit my car has never called. The SU says "Duh" but I had hoped better. I had really hoped that she had just had a really bad morning and lost it and would want to make ammends. Apparently, I was wrong.

Unfortunately for her, I know she works at NIH from her nametag. I have already tracked down her work number and given it to GEICO. If she does not respond soon, I will find her supervisor's number and call them.

This was really a bad move on her part. I am starting to get a little pissed off here. It is one thing to hit my car and scream at me. It is another thing entirely to not take responsibility for your actions. And I am certainly not letting this just go away.

My meeting with the teachers, guidance counselors, psychologists, et al was equally unsatisfactory. (Please understand that the comments that follow are not meant to apply to educators in general but just these specific ones. I have nothing but respect, in general, for teachers, especially EduCait and the Samurai, as well as various aunts and uncles.) In fact, the word "fucktard" kept running through my mind and I spent a lot of energy controlling my facial features. Here were the highlights:

* The assemblage thought there was a great crisis, even though no one could bother to call me or send an interim indicating there was a problem.

* The psychologist suggested anti-anxiety medication for the EM even though she had never even MET her and the teacher indicated that it wasn't that sort of anxiety.

* The group as a whole spent some time speculating on why the EM reads books in her desk instead of paying attention, but never bothered to ask her. The teacher does not take away her book nor does it seem that there is any real consequence for this behavior.

* One of the major recommendations was that the teachers would check to make sure her assignment book was filled out completely. The teacher has already delegated that to another student.

* When I pointed out how many times a day she was having to move around and that this was a significant contributor to the chaos and stress, and the teachers verified that the kids were always rushed, they indicated they would do nothing about that. By changing her homeroom, they could eliminate a lot of the communication and organizational issues. Most of them felt this made sense but the psychologist said no, so that was that.

For this I took time off from work!

And now the MM is afraid of his teacher. It seems that Mr. Gray, he who called the MM a jerk earlier in the year, picked up a child and swung him around and the boy was crying. The MM has also reported that Mr. Gray moves him around by pulling or pushing him. Totally unacceptable. So I am making discrete inquiries before calling the principal.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases