Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Take my photo off the wall if it just won't sing for you

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-01-31

7:51 a.m.
So you call her on the phone, To talk about the teachers that you hate.

In the spirit of "You showed me yours, I guess I had better show you mine".....

In truth, I really did not want to answer these questions, which is why I did. Most of it is fluff but there are a few things here that I probably would never choose to discuss.


THREE NAMES YOU GO BY
1. Amy
2. Victoria
3. Lindsey - by those who do not notice the directions on the form that say "Last name first."
4. Anything else that people call me.

THREE SCREEN NAMES YOU HAVE HAD
1. amyv1066
2. amy.lindsey


THREE THINGS YOU LIKE ABOUT YOURSELF
1. Ability to use both my left and right brains equally.
2. Strength in mind, will and body.
3. Competent.

THREE THINGS YOU DON�T LIKE ABOUT YOURSELF
1. I never stop thinking. Even when it is terribly inconvenient, I seem to be unable to turn my brain off.
2. Apparent remoteness. I tend to either be extremely intimate with people or not hardly at all.
3. I am too intense in some ways.

THREE PARTS OF YOUR HERITAGE
1. Scots.
2. Irish.
3. Smidge of German.

THREE THINGS THAT SCARE YOU
1. Really bad things happening to my children.
These other two don't scare me but top my "Not Preferred" list.
2. Public humiliation. Not criticism - that I deal with on a daily basis. Humiliation.
3. Personal incompetancy.

THREE OF YOUR EVERYDAY ESSENTIALS
1. Being outside.
2. Quiet time to be alone.
3. Caffeine, usually of the Diet Dr. Pepper variety. Well, ok. Not really. But it seems that way.

THREE THINGS YOU ARE WEARING RIGHT NOW
1. Black turtleneck.
2. Black pants.
3. Black everything else.

THREE OF YOUR NEW FAVORITE BANDS OR MUSICAL ARTISTS (at the moment)
1. Catie Curtis.
2. The October Project.
3. Modest Mouse.

THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE SONGS (at the moment)
1. Blondie "Denis"
2. Priscilla Herdman "Dancing at Whitsun"
3. Mary Chapin Carpenter "Alone but not Lonely"

THREE NEW THINGS YOU WANT TO TRY IN THE NEXT 12 MONTHS
1. Graduating.
2. Kayaking.
3. Trad climbing

THREE THINGS YOU WANT IN A RELATIONSHIP
1. Equality - absolutely mandatory.
2. Intimacy - emotional and physical.
3. Fun - even when things are bad, we should be able to have fun in the suckage.

TWO TRUTHS AND A LIE
1. Nachos are my favorite junk food.
2. I am easily irritated but difficult to actually anger.
3. I intensely dislike having to speak in a raised voice.

THREE PHYSICAL THINGS ABOUT THE OPPOSITE SEX (or the same) THAT APPEAL TO YOU
1. A revealing smile.
2. Expressive eyes.
3. Self-care. Not vanity, but just that you matter to yourself.

THREE THINGS YOU JUST CAN�T DO
1. Make small-talk.
2. Only one thing at a time.
3. See things in black and white.

THREE OF YOUR FAVORITE HOBBIES
1. Reading.
2. A multitude of outdoor activities - hiking, biking, running, etc.
3. Gaming - cards, wargames, RPG, you name it.

THREE THINGS YOU WANT TO DO REALLY BADLY RIGHT NOW
1. Sleep.
2. Take myself and my books away and not come back until I am done writing.
3. Go hiking.

THREE CAREERS YOU�RE CONSIDERING
Ugh. I can't even think about this right now. Must stay focused.

THREE PLACES YOU WANT TO GO ON VACATION
1. Anywhere. The list is too long to narrow down. I know it's a cop out but I will go anywhere as there is something to be learned from anyplace.

THREE KIDS NAMES
1. Emma Aelfgifu
2. Geoffrey Llwellyn
3. Griffin Rhys

THREE THINGS YOU WANT TO DO BEFORE YOU DIE
1. Hike the entire AT.
2. Get a Ph.D. and complete my research.
3. Design and build my own house.

THREE WAYS I AM STEREOTYPICALLY A BOY
THREE WAYS I AM STEREOTYPICALLY A CHICK
I absolutely loathe questions like this. And yes, I take this too seriously but I am not going to repeat a stereotype and therefore reinforce it. Since sex is mostly a cultural construct and I identify myself as a woman, everything I do, I do like a woman. Yeah, I know. I should get a life. So here is my list of
SIX WAYS I AM A WOMAN
1. I like and wear pink. Like a woman.
2. I prefer strategy to tactics. Like a woman.
3. I often wear frilly things under my clothes. Like a woman.
4. I have a high pain tolerance. Like a woman.
5. I rarely cry. Like a woman.
6. I am good at math. Like a woman.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases