Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Baby, you know you ain't no Prince Charming

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2005-01-10

2:20 p.m.
They get so angry, like pouty children, denied their candy

Normally, I advocate trying new things. There is almost always something of value to be gained by trying new experiences. However, in the case of Cherry Vanilla Diet Dr. Pepper, I found out just how wrong I could be.

I suppose I should write about what I've been up to recently but quite frankly I really don't care about it. And if I don't care, why should anyone else? It's not that I didn't have a good time at Twelfth Night. It was fun and all that. Probably different from most other people's in that it involved watching mongols for much of the time. But that's cool - nobody made me have kids.

I have noticed that I have a marked tendency towards writing about how I feel about events before they happen and never really reinterpreting things afterwards. For example, I wrote about getting ready to attend the SUs company party but I never said what actually happened. I suppose that is annoying but it is how I tend to live my life. I tend to live in the future and sometimes the present, when it is particularly interesting or stimulating. Rarely do I spend much time on the past.

I guess if I wrote every night instead of usually while sitting here at work, things might be a little different. One of my favorite movies is Impromptu and involves the novelist/diarist George Sand. I suppose if I were more dedicated, like her, I would document events of my life much more carefully. As is, I think posterity can live without my account of an evening of watching people I don't know line dance or the conversations with strangers that I smiled through. I think I will have to scratch "Being a modern Samuel Pepys" off of my life-goal list. I am so bad that I never even kept baby books for any of the Mongols.

I am not certain if my predilection for the future is because of my poor memory or perhaps it is the other way around. I am completely the worst at remembering just about anything. What did I have for dinner last night? Don't remember. People's names, events that occurred, all gone from my sieve-like brain. Except for the botanical names of plants. Those I almost always remember. Because I really, really need those in my head. On the positive side, it works out very well for other people. You can tell me I said something, borrowed money from you, etc. and I will pretty much have to believe you.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases