Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


And here at the bar the pianoman's found another nail for my heart

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-12-14

1:28 a.m.
Like a kid loves candy and fresh snow

Well, that was a busy fun-filled weekend. Maybe not. But two out of three isn't bad - it was busy and it was a weekend. I will update on that tomorrow, when some of my brain cells have recharged.

Tonight we tried to take a picture for the Christmas cards. Amazingly enough, we are actually sending some out this year. The only way this is happening is through the miracle of delegation i.e. I'm not doing it. I think this is quite equitable. We have divided the labor this year, which I consider to be a big step in the right direction. My job is to buy all of the presents. The SU gets to wrap them, mail them, and send out the cards. I am not certain which one of us got the better deal.

I am not certain why I thought taking a photo of the mongols was going to be easy. All they had to do was wear clean clothes and smile nicely. Should have known better. The EM had the great idea of them all wearing silly hats, so then there was much discussion about who got which hat. The YM wanted to wear his brand new messenger bag and out toys in it to deliver to Santa. He wouldn't take it off. He put the elf hat on backwards. The MM put on a clean shirt from a basketball camp. We asked him to put on a different shirt. He insisted that the basketball shirt symbolized his interests since he went to summer camp and he likes to play basketball. I pointed out that the t-shirt was from the Reston Y and was most definitely not his. So he changed. Into a skateboarding t-shirt. How......festive.

So they were dresssed reasonably appropriatedly. At least they were mostly clean. But then I tried to take a photo. YM kept sticking out his tongue. MM kept crossing his eyes. The EM knew better, as she understands the concept of blackmail. So no photo in the Christmas cards this year. This is the best of what I got. I am just too tired to mess with it and get them to pose nicely. Next year, I'll plan ahead (sure I will) and have a photo professionally shot.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases