Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


You wear those shoes and I will wear that dress

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-12-08

12:21 a.m.
She put a Lousiana liplock

And now, for an Andy Rooney moment.
Did you ever notice how stupid the banners are in Diaryland? There are banners advertising books that no one will ever buy or read. Like the one about Katie being too busy with the women's movement to love Ben. Ones that tell us how wacky, gay, strange, whatever the writer is. And of course, there are the inscrutable ones. So we feel compelled to click on them to uncover the mystery. Ever clicked on one out of curiosity? Not very mysterious in the flesh.

So I have a gold membership now and one of the perks that comes with it is the ability to put up banners. I'm kind of torn about this as I'm not particularly interested in attracting readers. Hell, if I wanted people to read this, I would write interesting things not just whatever rubbish pops into my brain. On the other hand, this could be a golden opportunity for some free fun. For example, I could design fun banners that point people to other people's diaries. Maybe not in the way they would wish. I could write an ad for a truly lame book that doesn't exist and track how many people click on it.

I think if I were to actually design a banner for myself, it would have to have tentacles. Some people are fuzzy, some are marshmallowy, and some of us have tentacles. Gotta go with your strengths.

Today Beorn ate an entire box of Frosted Mini Wheats. Ummmmm, fiber. Reflect a moment on the meaning of that much fiber in one meal. Ummmmmmmm.

If you know the next line of the today's song, you are just as sick as I am. Let's see, there's Mykl. And Mykl. And probably Mykl. I think that's it. Special prize to anyone (besides Mykl) that sends me the next line. And I do mean special. No fair googling for it. I will know. We toys can see everything. So play nice.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases