Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Grene growth the holy, so doth the ive

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-12-06

10:08 a.m.
You wear those shoes and I will wear that dress

I suppose I should mention that I am having a party Christmas Eve. This might seem like a very strange time to have a party but it is a direct outgrowth of my parents tradition of having a meal of appetizers and playing games as a way to start the holidays. It's too late to shop, too early to put toys together, what else is there to do (assuming one practices a secular version of the holiday)? We started doing something similar a number of years ago, mostly with friends who lived very close and who also had children but it has since grown into something a bit bigger but not huge. Basically, the adults sit around and have a glass of wine and a nosh. Maybe play a game or two. This is a relaxing occasion, not a get dressed up and be festive thing. Well ok, if you want to be truly festive, no one will stop you. But perkiness is not required. Last year, we had a drinking version of the dreidel game which was pretty funny but definitely a first for the party. Can't promise anything similar this year - I was not the originator of that one. So anyway, you are all welcome to stop by starting around 2pm until whenever. I am always up until around 4am, as it is my job to put stuff together. I will try to send out more personal invitations later but I am always running a bit late with these things.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases