Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


-

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-11-22

2:22 p.m.
All these places had their moments

Well, I suppose I should write something. Perhaps an explanation of why you can click on some of my previous entries and get an actual entry and if you click on others, you get the Diaryland error page. Basically, I upgraded my membership to Gold, which allows me to make some of my entries private without locking the entire diary. I suppose I could have just started a second diary and kept it private but that is more complicated and would require more brain cells than I currently have free for this activity. Passwords are such a bitch to remember.

So I went to order checks with the current address on them. I still have some old ones left but it has been 4 months now, so I should get new ones. I have to admit I was pretty astounded by the range of choices available to me. If I wanted, I could get checks with the Incredible Hulk, Spiderman, or Spongebob Squarepants on them. Or if I was in a "cute" mood, there are always the Care Bears, Strawberry Shortcake, or Hello Kitty. Checks with babies, puppies, kittens, dolphins, flowers, any manner of other "cute" things. Let's not forget Harley-Davidsons, Nascar, and Disney icons. Woohoo. And then there are the message checks. Just think, you can get checks with pro-life, anti-breast cancer, patriotic, or god worshipping sentiments.

My personal favorites are the hunting checks. They always show the deer in such beautiful natural settings. Not in your freezer or above the mantle. Perhaps I have missed the point of hunting though. Isn't it to kill animals? And then eat them?

I read the news item about the hunter in Wisconsin that shot 7 people, killing 5 of them, in a dispute over a hunting platform. While I am very sorry for the losses, part of me just has to think this is a bit of Darwinism.
Here is a quote from a bystander - "When you're hunting you don't expect somebody to try to shoot you and murder you." Unless, of course, you are a deer.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases