Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


The mama pajama rolled out of bed and she ran to the police station

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-11-11

9:21 p.m.
You'll forget the sun in his jealous sky as we walk in fields of gold

I did absolutely nothing today that I was supposed to. I had the day off, as it is Veteran's Day, so I was going to seize the opportunity to get some good library time in. But I didn't. I think this is partly in reaction to last night's test, which covered very little of the material we talked about in class. I was not the only person puzzled by the questions. There were only four of us taking the test so we yacked as we worked on it. Our collective reaction to the questions was "Where the hell did this stuff come from?" I diagrammed a structure that I have never even seen before. Hard to bullshit your way through that one. I am sure I'll get a few points for effort but I am just not going to worry about it too much. I only had one night to study for it, as I am totally swamped at work. In my next class, I was given four assignments. About 100 pages of reading, due next week, a two page paper proposal due next week, a 20 page minimum research paper due in a month, and a 5 page paper due in a month. Perfectly reasonable, except that my schedule is already pretty tight. Hence my completely blowing off the one day I had free to work.

Makes no sense, I know. I just needed to take a day for myself instead of researching, working, writing, running errands, driving children around, and all the other crap that mostly makes up my life. Even did not go have a parent-teacher conference like I was supposed to. It was not set for a specific time but today was the day for it. Oh well. The world did not end.

One of the things I did do today, that I was not necessarily supposed to, was get a ferret. I went into Petco with the intention of buying crickets for Frogzilla and the Unnamed Newt and came out with a ferret and a bunch of other stuff. I knew I would play with the ferrets while there and yes, I knew I wanted another ferret, but I was not planning on getting one. But now I have crawling in my hair, even as I write this, and find that there isn't much better in life than having a ferret. But now I have the problem of naming him. The mongols all want to call him Chocolate, as he is fairly dark colored. I am still quite undecided, except for knowing that I will not name him Chocolate under any circumstances. Oscar is one suggestion I have recieved, but I am not certain on that one. Perhaps tomorrow I will post a picture and we'll see if anyone out there has any good ideas.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases