Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Didn't expect to have to rise above my reputation for cynicism,

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-10-25

12:01 a.m.
How long til my soul gets it right, Can any human being ever reach the highest light

So I think the whole party thing is sort of under control. Perhaps I overstressed. I have made a list and put days next to each task so that I can get everything done in time. It looks doable but we'll see if I can stick to my schedule. I got a fair amount of cleaning done this weekend, which will not last for two weeks but may reduce the amount of garbage to deal with then. I mostly destroyed the giant azalea of doom that anchored the bed I had to remove. I would have like to have moved it but it was just way too big to even contemplate that. Que sera sera. I always feel guilty about killing a plant for my own selfish reasons. But you know, I had chili for dinner and if I am going to start feeling guilty about something, maybe I should start with that cow.

I had something funny/pathetic occur on Friday night. As I was performing my nightly ablutions, I noticed a short wiry white hair sticking out of the center of my head. I was a little puzzled becuase I had never noticed it before but reasoned that perhaps I had brushed my hair differently that morning. Now white hair is a fact of life as one gets older. I am sure I have white hair somewhere on my head; I don't really go looking. The other alternative is to have no hair. But still, this hair was just offensive not so much in color as in demeanor. I had visions of my head covered only with wiry 2 1/2" long hair and that was just scary. So what to do about this unwanted hair? I thought about just plucking it out. Who would ever notice? I have enough follicles on my head that I lose at least a handful a day. Maybe that hair could just go with today's volunteers. But then I would feel compelled to seach out and destroy all of it's fellows. Seems a tad on the anal retentive side to me. I guess I could dye my hair and that would take care of it. But my head has almost every color hair on it and having hair that is just one color seems like a rather large price to pay. Besides, that would mean going to a hair salon and I usually avoid those places like the plague. 1 1/2 years and counting! And the last time was when I busted my arm and couldn't properly brush my hair. Ok, so plucking is out, dyeing is out. Maybe I could just get it to lie down. I would settle for that. Which is when I discovered that it was not even attached to my head and was, in all probability, one of Beorn's hairs. Doh! Nature's way of telling you it's time to go to sleep.

Halloween seems like it is starting to come together as well. My tombstones should arrive later this week - all churches need a graveyard! Saturday I bought a fog machine and all sorts of scary stuff. Costumes are nearly complete, though we'll see if EM's angel wings arrive from Canada in time. Otherwise I will have to buy cheesy ones. YM decided to be a knight. Right now he is sleeping in his crappy plastic armor and intends on wearing it to school everyday. Except for the sword. He understands that he cannot carry a sword to school. You might wonder why crappy plastic armor. The fact is he insisted on it. I offered better, but he wanted plastic! Very frustrating but pretty cool he wants armor. Even cooler is that he is not trying to be like his dad - he's never even seen the SU in armor before. He was a bit concerned about the shield, since I don't use one. I told him it was ok, some people like shields, just not me. The MM decided not to wear the Cthulhu mask but instead to be a Dementor. Whatever. I'll wear the mask and lurk in my graveyard. YM and MM spent a whole afternoon dressed up, battling each other, with a complex storyline and enough rules to give one a headache. I suppose I should just be happy that one of the mongols has finally decided to be something scary. The EM has been a fairy more times than I can remember. And now, an angel. I think someone needs to go sit in the most sincere pumpkin patch and wait for the Great Pumpkin to rise so she can learn the true meaning of Halloween.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases