Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


I like black and white, dreaming in black and white

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-10-21

8:57 p.m.
Didn't expect to have to rise above my reputation for cynicism,

I am woefully behind in my party planning. I have just had to accept that I will have to buy most of the food because there is no way I have time to make it. I also seem to be drawing a real blank on what I need to get done in order to host this party. I know that I am taking out some landscaping this weekend in order to accomodate the megalino. I was going to be removing it anyway - the party just accelerated my plans. I know I need to have some firewood delivered for the outside firebowl as well as the fireplace. I guess I should rent some more chairs. Not sure about that. Probably should clean the house too. I was hoping to have had the contractors and painters in and out by then, but it seems like the various renovations will have to wait. I'd rather not be in mid project with a lot of people in the house. Don't know what my problem is. In theory, I know how to throw a party. Just having problems getting it together.

Oh, yeah. If you told me in person you were coming or not, you will probably want to drop me an email. These days I do not have an extra brain cell to devote to remembering these things so I would not trust me to do so. Don't know what the hell I'm talking about? November 6 is the surprise 40th birthday party for Led, or Otto, as most of you know him. If I did not invite you, mea culpa. You are invited. Send me an email and I'll send you the info. Yes, as a matter of fact that is Crown Tourney weekend. Oh well, just shoot me. It was the best I could do. So anyway, it's not like you can't come if you don't say so in advance. I would just prefer that if I have to buy food and drink, that at least I buy enough.

I am suffering from a serious attitude problem these days. Pretty much everyone is moderately pissed at me and I no longer care. Khalid wants me at work more hours, the SU is feeling neglected, haven't spoken with my parents in weeks, the kids want me to participate in school stuff. I think I am more pissed at David right now than he could possibly be at me. David is my thesis adviser and also the professor for a class I am taking. Now, I like David; we get along well and enjoy challenging each other. But this week has just been a trying one in our relationship. We are meeting every Monday about my thesis so I left work and drove up to Baltimore to meet with him only to discover that he had taken Tylenol with codeine for a back injury. Fine. Do you know what it is like to try and have a discussion on your thesis with someone who is on drugs?? What a giant waste of time! He doesn't even remember what we talked about. So I left work and drove to Baltimore for nothing. Must control fist of death. Actually, for me it is more like mouth of death. Will I say something totally unforgivable? So far, I'm doing moderately well though my thoughts might get me sent to jail.

But on the bright side, my Chthulhu slippers arrived yesterday. They are on my feet now and are furry, tentacled, and very, very green. And if you mess with me, I will pretend they are eating your heart out. Just kidding. Really.

And now for my random thought of the day. Is it better to write a curse word or use a symbol to replace a letter? Let's just not get into the discussion of whether it is ok to use these words at all. I have noticed that some people will write f@ck or f*ck instead of fuck. I mean, can anyone not figure out the word even with the asterisk in it? Even my 7 year old would cover his mouth and say "Aww, that's a bad word." Who is fooled here? I don't get it myself, but maybe it is more polite to use an asterisk.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases