Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Ain't no beauty queens in this locality

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-09-07

2:45 p.m.
Particle man, particle man, Doing the things a particle can

Well and truly have I been slacking on my entries. I guess I've been busy. Not really any busier than normal though.

Classes last week were interesting. Sort of. Plants in the City is my lead-off class in the afternoon. David is an excellent teacher and an interesting person as well. So it appears like it will be a good experience. All my classmates speak english, understand how to work in teams, and are generally both responsible and creative. Tolerable quantities of reading and homework. A sketchbook requirement that gives me the excuse to go spend time drawing with no one to bug me. Class material that I have covered, to one extent or another, either professionally or as an undergrad. Too much good going on here - I am suspicious.

The second class is an Intro to Planning. I feel a little like I am cheating by taking it but I have never had a class in planning. This is probably the largest class I have ever had as a grad student - there are 18 people in it. So far it is incredibly boring. No required text but he expects us to copy our reading assignments from his master set. Giant pain in the ass because the school doesn't provide paper (don't ask, it's a Morgan thing) and he will only bring them one week at a time. As I am not going to drive to Baltimore just to make copies, some logistics are required. My old buddy, Santosh (see last spring semester), is in there too.(Bad architect! Retail buildings are not 20' deep!)As long as we don't have to work in a group together, everything will be just fine.

There are four assignments for this class. The first is to go to a public meeting, take notes, and then write a summary. No problem. I can do that on the clock. The second is to write a definition of planning. Don't think I'll break a sweat on that one either. The third and fourth assignments are to write a proposal for a term paper and then the term paper itself. On any topic. I will probably write it on something I have already researched, either for work or thesis.

This is the semester I really need to deal with while I am writing my thesis. So I have had a really good thought about thesis that might satisfy most of my objectives. I have done a lot of research on the relationship between children and nature and then used it to design the Rachel Carson Sense of Wonder Park. I have been working on building it for the last 2 years, which has been a real challenge around school and work. I had originally decided not to use this work for my thesis because I have an Issue with the way most people think of children and communities. As soon as I mention children and design, people instantly think of playgrounds instead of seeing children as members of the community. I would really, really like to change that. But maybe it won't happen with my thesis. Perhaps my challenge will be to find the question that I am answering with my design. Just my latest thinking.

And now, for all of you that actually read through that, some special words of wisdom. Unless you wish to lose the bottom of your swimsuit, do not streamline feet first down a water slide and kick up as you shoot out. Trejectory + velocity = potentially embarassing moment.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases