Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Forever's not so long, stop moping

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-07-22

11:40 a.m.
I'm not quite clear about what you just spoke, Was that a parable or a very subtle joke?

Here is a partial summary of the last week. The move on Friday was basically a clusterfuck of clowns wanting to be paid lots o'money to s l o w l y move my stuff while still damaging my brand new hardwood floors. These idiots did not finish until 1am, partly because they didn't show up until 10:45 in the morning, brought a 26' truck so it took 2 trips, and one of then seemed like he was having real problems, of the narcotics addiction sort. My confidence was not inspired.

By the time we left for Richmond on Saturday, I was exhausted and out of reserves. Needless to say, the race on Sunday could have been a whole lot better. I had fun, but more in the "ok, I'm not going to pass out or throw up" variety, than the "I own that hill" type. Next year will be better.

I had never competed in a race before, as I had bypassed that aspect of sports. I generally prefer competing with myself than with others, but this could be an interesting new dimension. When I played soccer, I played keeper and was very competitive about my game. To the point of ignoring personal danger and injury. I did not care if I got kicked in the face, as long as I took the ball away. And the only way to stop me would be to take me out physically. It was a tremendous asset as well as a personal liability. Knowing that I have this tendency, I have always been a bit leery about letting myself care about winning. This is one of the reasons that SCA fighting has always been something I enjoy but have not become too serious about.

Sunday night was a trip back to the old house to get more loose stuff. Between work and school, Monday and Tuesday were totally shot, though I did go over to the house Tuesday night after class. Talking about being the walking dead! Wednesday morning I went to do the final cleaning and throwing out of trash. I must be the last person on the planet that does her own cleaning. At least this is how the real estate agent and the buyers acted when they showed up to do the walkthrough. More sneering ensued at the settlement. This was the least pleasant real estate transaction I have ever been a party to. The buyer and her agent were not friendly or even cordial. The settlement attorney kissed the buyers ass, as she is rich and I am not. But the important thing is that I walked away with a check for the correct amount. And I will never have to see those people again. Makes me glad I did not leave a bottle of champagne in the fridge like I usually do for the buyer.

All things considered, a reasonably successful week. I have so many bruises and scratches on my legs that strangers have asked what happened to me. I made a fabulous return on my real estate investment, not quite as well as I did in the stock market in the 90's, but pretty damn close. And I am still in love with my new house.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases