Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Deep greens and blues are the colors I choose

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-06-10

1:52 p.m.
I have squandered my resistance for a pocket full of mumbles

Since our house is on the market, we have to keep it spotless. So far it hasn't been that big a deal; we just don't spend much time there. But this morning it took me an extra hour to get the house ready for the day's showings, before I could go to work. Apparently, some time in the night, one of the mongols threw up all over the third floor landing and walls. And I am the only person to notice or comment on this. Hrrrrrrrm. I inquired as to which one did this and did not bother to mention the "situation" and got three identical "Not me"'s. Further investigation revealed a similarly adorned half of the male mongols' bed. YM's half. He still maintained that he did not do it, even after I explained that it wasn't really a problem, I just wanted to know. When I asked him if the vomit fairy came in the night with a special present, he said yes. Wonder if I can perpetuate this belief. Like the tooth fairy, only not.

I must say that the visual I get with even the concept of the vomit fairy has made me laugh all day,and think about doing a collage or maybe even textile art. Maybe a hand puppet. Except I can't think of any reason to do this except for my own amusement. If I had more time, it would be enough. As it stands, we'll see....

One of the cool things about having to pack your stuff is that it gives you an opportunity to go through it all and get rid of stuff. I opened a trunk in the basement that had t-shirts in it that I had not worn in a minimum of 5 years, since we moved from Buffalo, and more likely longer than that. I found many shirts that reflected other eras of my life including the science fiction era and the strange-ex-boyfriend-who-bought-and-drew-tshirts era. Some of them I kept, most are being donated.

A surprising number of the t-shirts came from crappy jobs I have worked. It really is a quite impressive array, starting from when I was 14. Makes me wish I had a complete set so I could show my "progress". I think the only crappy jobs I haven't held have been waitressing and telemarketing. I tried to get a job as a waitress, but couldn't because I didn't have any experience. I have never been broke enough to apply to be a telemarketer.

Certainly I did my time working fast food, an experience I believe all Americans should have. I worked at McDonalds, Arthur Treachers, and Arbys, as well as Baskin Robbins briefly. I've done the whole retail thing - Pfaltzgraf Pfactory Store, the Body Shop, the Gamekeeper, as well as the "service sector" - the public library, Crown Gas Station (counts as service 'cause I actually pumped gas), Squires Student Center, baby wrangler for a church.

By far, the most t-shirts came from various nurseries I have worked at over the years - what one is qualified to do with a BS in Horticulture. Helps me remember why I really need this master's degree. So, back to the thesis tomorrow night.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases