Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


I did my best, it wasn't much, I couldn't feel, so I tried to touch

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-06-03

9:58 a.m.
But you can't hide standing under these stars

I can't believe how much I've actually missed my job. Today is my first day back at work in more than three weeks. First I had oral surgery, then it was the end of the semester, and through it all, getting the house ready to sell. When I left work on May 3, I had no idea I was going to be gone so long. Hence I have dead flowers and flat seltzer on my desk. Could be a whole lot worse.

I got what will probably be the biggest laugh of the day this morning. Today YM is wearing a too big Superman shirt, MM's shorts (which are WAY too big), his rainbow silk cape, sandals insistently on the wrong feet, and to cap it off, a plastic Viking hat. It was like he had an identity crisis halfway through dressing. Is he a freaky superhero or a Viking on acid? It was so funny looking that I had to take pictures. Maybe I'll post one later. When I took him into daycare, the other kids just stopped and stared. No one dresses for school like the YM. It's really kind of cool having a kid who is so creative in his dressing.

Unfortunately, I don't have enough time to actually write any of my real thoughts, as that might be poor form on my first day back. On a formatting note, you might or might not have noticed that I have changed the way I am doing my titles. I got tired of trying to come up with an adequate descriptor, because usually I'm not writing about much - generally whining. So instead I am using a line out of whatever I happen to be listening to. Which might have nothing to do with whatever I wrote, but more with state of mind. maybe I'll give a prize to the first person who can tell me what song is referenced. I think the overseas Squotter might be the only one to get today's song. Last night's shouldn't be that hard though...

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases