Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Bitch, bitch, bitch

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-05-27

11:15 p.m.
It's a Buck Dancer's choice, my friend

Things are seeming to go better. More likely, it is just that my attitude has adjusted itself. I no longer care about exactly when the house hits the market. The bottom line is that I am working as hard as I can (ok, I did take Monday night off) and I have the various contractors moving along pretty fast. So it'll be done when it is done. What is currently done looks damn good. Would look better if our stuff wasn't in it. Our stuff is not particularly good looking stuff. Maybe one day I will have aesthetically pleasing stuff.

So far, the biggest challenge to pack has been my room because it is the smallest room in the house with the most stuff crammed into it. Well, and it's mine. I have been ruthless in my discarding - models, old drawings, old markers. The hardest part is trying to figure out what I need to leave out and what I need to pack. Still have both summer school and that pesky thesis to deal with.

One of the things that has gotten me through this tedium of seemingly endless packing, schlepping, and cleaning is thinking about one of Moustache's latest posts with his rules. I know it was meant in a very lighthearted way, so of course I have to try and turn it into something serious. I have been working on my own set of rules but have been finding it very difficult to write, not really being a rules-based person.

In order to actually decipher what my rules potentially are, I have been looking for common behavioral denominators. I decided that merely having rules like "Never, ever serve me canned tuna or preferably even eat it around me. Do not even THINK about kissing me apres tuna" would not actually be useful to know. Unless of course, you are eating tuna. In which case, I will not be near you. A more helpful thing to know might be that I really tend to avoid things that smell bad. Of which tuna is one. I guess it also fails the minimally processed food rule. Just so many reasons why canned tuna is an abortion. Well anyway, I have been working on more uber rules. Its a forest thing.

I am a bit conflicted because I have found that the rules I have come up with are a bit more revealing than I am generally comfortable with. It's not that I think that any ill will necessarily come of people knowing these things. It more goes against my grain to disclose excessive personal information. So I am not certain exactly what I will do with the list when I am done with it. There is merit in going outside my comfort zone. There is also merit in listening to that little voice that says "Not everyone appreciates total honesty." So we'll see.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases