Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Just standing in the Garden of Evil

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-05-09

10:35 p.m.
I feel stupid, oh so stupid

I am an idiot. This might not seem like a newsflash to you, but the extent of my stupidity has come as a bit of a revelation to me. Having now worked through the effects of my little real estate shenanagins of last week, I can now conclude that a)I have a deathwish, b)my summer is really going to suck, and c)I am an idiot.

Apparently, it just wasn't enough for me to be taking classes, writing my thesis, working, and managing the entire summer camp/swim season madness for the mongols. No, I have to add getting the house ready to sell, selling it, packing all of our belongings, moving, and reconstituting our home. Don't need a Magic 8 ball to tell me I'm not going to Pennsic after all. Good thing I didn't work through all of this before we made the decision or there would be no day seizing going on. Rearrange the letters in carpe diem and what do you get? Crap, me die.

So we have tageted June 5 as our open house date. The SU must finish putting in the bamboo on the stairs, painting must be done, stuff put in storage, the waterfall finished in the backyard, and cleaning, cleaning, cleaning. Some of that will just have to be hired out. Like the cleaning. And some of the painting.

And no, I am not done with that urban design project yet.

And because it seems like the Thing To Do

1. Grab the nearest book.

2. Open the book to page 23.

3. Find the fifth sentence (not line, sentence).

4. Post the text of the sentence in your journal along with these instructions.

"An object is also taken as a symbol when it casts a penumbra of meanings, when it calls to mind a succession of phenomena that are related analogically or metaphorically to each other." - Topophilia, A study of environmental perception, attitudes, and values. Yi-Fu Tuan.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases