Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


And the color for the day is....

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-04-29

9:47 a.m.
Check your baggage at the door

"I'm seeing this girl and she just might be out of her mind

Well she's got baggage and it's all the emotional kind

She talks about closure and that validation bit

I don't mean to be insensitive, but I really hate that shit" - The Offspring

This morning on my way to work, my older sister called me. Now I have been practicing family avoidance for a while because my sister, Honey (yeah that's her given name) and mother are having a fight. Or rather, they are not having a fight, as is done in my family.

My sister is getting ready to move to Belgium after having moved back from England less than a year ago. I am not certain just what the problem is but feel like I am going to be finding out very soon. And I don't want to.

I have a fundamental philosophy about these things - deal with your own issues. Need help? Fine, we can talk. Nobody's perfect; it would be boring if we were. But don't drag your emotional baggage into everything. Please?

I guess this makes me sort of like an emotional Switzerland. If I really thought an atrocity was occurring, I might stir myself. But for some reason, I just can't get that worked up about most emotional impasses.

Makes me wonder though. Is ironic detachment healthy? Or is it merely the sign of a stunted heart?

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases