Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


another boring day (or is that boring another day)

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-04-23

10:00 a.m.
There are places I remember....

What a glorious day it is! So glorious that I don't think I am going to go to class this afternoon. Heh heh. I will probably pay for this later, but the question is how much will it hurt? I am thinking that it will turn out to be a good deal.

But all of this beauty has me thinking about my list of things to do before I die. I'm not being maudlin or anything. Chances are really good that unless someone drops a house on me, I'll easily live into my nineties. My grandparents were/are long-lived, so no reason to feel impending doom. But I do know that there are some things that may be easier to do now than later. And why should I wait until I'm old to have fun? I am planning on being a terrible old crone and fun might just make that harder.

So here is the list(in no particular order)I have come up with so far:

* Go to Rome with my sketchbook.

* Own a purple Victorian house and use a turret room as my studio.

* Hike the entire AT, in one long trip.

* Drive a new car. I don't actually want to own one, just drive one. I know I could do this anytime; the point is that I just don't get around to doing these things.

* Wear a formal dress and go to the opera.

* Jump out of a plane. With a parachute on.

* Set foot on every single continent. It's hard to list all of the places I want to go, so I think this can cover it.

* Run a complete marathon.

* Find a spot so isolated that I can immerse myself and feel the world turn. At least once a season.

* Repaint "Surrender Dorothy" on the appropriate overpass. That is one piece of grafitti that deserves to be permanent.

* Wear a clothing size that is a single digit. So I'm shallow. Sue me. It's my list.

Well, that's a starting list. I am sure I will add to it as I go. None of them are insurmountable or incredibly unrealistic. I find that the first step in making something happen is to articulate the wish. Only then can I work towards it consciously and start planning.

But for now, time to go buy new running shoes. Yippity skippity! A great beginning to a great day!

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases