Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


the adventure continues

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-04-20

3:48 p.m.
Feh!

Today is being a mostly fine day. I am not at work. I have not gone to school like I was supposed to have. Maybe. Still unclear exactly what the hell is going on with that project. Emails flying back and forth on exactly what our plan is. But at least they are not thinking about a plan. Stupidest project I have ever worked on. Well, that's not true. Better to say "Most clueless group I have ever worked with." My head hurts from trying to deal with this. But I have decided that it is just a three credit class. What is the worst that happens? I guess the worst would be me losing my temper and actually saying what I think. Oh and getting a less than optimal grade. I am actually going to try and not write about this class anymore, because no good can possibly come from it.

The weekend was really fun. Scott and Les came over Saturday night with their kids. Through a strange turn of events we ended up with 10 children in the house. So that made it a little on the loud and chaotic side. But the important thing is that the night did not end with a trip to the emergency room and we still had a good time. Sunday was the lingerie and toy party at Brenna's house. It is too bad they do not make an emoticon with the facial contortions I went through. Embarassing and uncomfortable, but still kind of fun and, um, informative.

The mongols actually did well on their report cards this marking period. MM (Mr. "It doesn't have to be perfect. Why do I have to do this correctly?") made honor roll and EM brought all of her study skills up to at least "S"s. Woohoo! I honestly feel that if EM were allowed to be in the third grade instead of fourth, she would do just fine. I wish I had had the wisdom 5 years ago to say that a 4 year old is just too young for kindergarten. She could read already and was tall for her age, so we went ahead and sent her. Hah! Perhaps if we move and she changes schools, we can get her held back.

Work is going fairly well. The planning board liked our proposed new zone and actually encouraged us to go farther with it. I have been pushing for form based codes instead of the standard zoning method and it was really wonderful to get positive feedback that will allow me to move further towards that.

I have decided not to quit my job but rather to just scale back my hours so that I can work on my thesis more. We will see if this compromise will work. It's funny. When I was growing up, my parents always told me that I could go as far and do anything that I wanted to do. And I believed them. But they never gave me that caveat of "only if your family will let you". Somehow I cannot believe that women should pay the majority of the price for having children. But I guess that's just my egalitarian viewpoint.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases