Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


random thought for the day

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-04-12

2:03 p.m.
mea culpa

So maybe I've been a bit flip about religion of late. I truly hope that it was received as humor and not as meaness, as that was the intention.

I am very thankful to the Catholic Church for a number of things. I do not believe western architecture would have ever developed to the extent that it has without the patronage of the Catholic Church. Think of Paris without Notre Dame or Rome without the Basillica. For that matter, Rome without a whole lot of it's buildings. Without the church there would be no flying buttresses or domed ceilings. Architecture in pursuit of a higher goal was restricted to mostly religious uses until the rise of the corporaton. Well ok, a few palaces, but even castles are mostly utilitarian. I know that my appreciation of spaces and the way light and sound move in them comes directly from being bored in an Episcipol church. Likewise, the church has made incredible contributions to art, philosophy, literature, and all that.

No, aliens did not steal my brain and replace it with granola. I am just trying to be balanced here.

So, in case you are sitting around with nothing better to do, here is web site that I found humorous. But note, I consider snarky ok as long as it is obvious that you are being snarky and not serious.

http://www.wonkette.com/

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases