Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Tantrums, and Turks, and Bores, Oh my!

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-03-21

4:26 p.m.
A shorn hobbit

I have a sleeping hobbit (also known as YM) on my lap, what more can one want? He is looking a little less shaggy than his usual, since he got a hair cut last week. Strangely enough, YM noticed that his hair was in his face and thought that maybe it was a bad thing. He still won't let anyone other than me cut it, and even then, I have to cut really fast, as he will only stand still for a couple of minutes. It's alwasy interesting to see how badly I butcher his 'do, but this time it sort of worked out. He wanted it left long in the back, so I gave him a haircut that is vaguely reminiscent of a mullet. Never thought I'd have a child with a mullet, but it doesn't look too bad on him, so what the hell.

I am thinking of trying to buy prosthetics online so that he can dress up like a hobbit for Halloween next year. He has the hair and the eyes to begin with and while he does have large ears, they are not pointed. So I need pointy ears and hairy feet to completely transform him. I'm sure Ebay has something.

Friday's class went pretty well. Our 3 groups were supposed to present our 3 designs, but instead presented 6 different designs. Apparently, group 1 couldn't agree on 1 design, so they all presented individually. Two people from group 2 did agree, but the third presented individually. And then there was my design. Sweta did not have anything to pin up. My presentation went very well. I only got asked 2 questions, both of which I had already considered. So the next step is for each group to consolidate their ideas and develop just 1 idea more fully.

But not this week. This is my Spring Break, to be celebrated in lovely Gaithersburg. I had briefly toyed with the idea of taking a daytrip to somewhere warm. Airfares are so reasonable these days that it is doable. But no, I will be good, as it would not be fair for me to do something fun while the SU has to work. And I have to work as well.

Had a major breakthrough on the thesis front. I had been dithering on the best way to get my issue in front of the community to get their cooperation. But then, someone else brought up the issue of the current playground equipment. While my thesis is only tangential to this, it gives me the perfect reason for bringing up my research with the community.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases