Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Spin the bottle of fate

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-03-01

10:54 p.m.
WWJD? - probably puke

Gentle readers,

If you are a Christian, I am probably going to offend you. Sorry. Well, ok, I'm not sorry for writing this, but I do not wish to cause spiritual nausea. So consider yourselves warned. And yes, I probably am going to hell

I was reading the paper today and saw that Mel Gibson's Jesus flick made over $115 million since it opened. Now the movie only cost $25 million to make. So this means that Mel (and others) have made a quick $90 million telling a story of the death of Jesus. Hrrrm... Now what would Jesus do? Would Jesus continue to charge people money to educate and/or convert them? Maybe Mel should just let everyone see the movie for free. Would Jesus sell "officially licensed shirts inspired by the movie"? And jewelry of all sorts - crosses, nails, you name it. Seems to me more like what SATAN would do (speaking only of the christian version.) Perhaps Mel is planning on giving all of his profits to a worthy cause. I looked all over the web site for the movie, but did not see it mentioned.

What's that I smell in the air? Is it the scent of sweet hypocracy? Mel is not the first and certainly won't be the last to make a buck off of Jesus. It's just that he went through the drive-thru and Enron-sized it. Repulsive for someone who claims to be a Christian.

I have no problem with the concept of organized religon. It's not for me, but bully if it's for you. I do think if you are going to espouse a set of beliefs, you should be making a good faith attempt to follow them. Especially when they make you an obscene amount of money.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases