Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


yet another rant

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-02-08

3:34 p.m.
It's always lalalalalalalala

So the EM wants a sister. Pretty badly. Badly enough to suggest that she save up her allowance and adopt one herself. I am disinclined to aquiesce to her request. It's not that I would not sort of like to have another child. Sort of. I did always want four and having children is something that I do fairly well. But I am not going to have another because I have just now started to get my shit together and I am loathe to lose it again. There are more reasons than this, but I think that is sufficient. Unfortunately, I can not explain this to EM, because she sees no problem with me sacrficing my life and dreams for my children. In fact, she regularly works to make me feel guilty for job, school, and hobby. I am not certain where this concept of mother as only mother comes from. Certainly not me!

I got to spend part of yesterday morning poking around Pearl Art Supplies, one of my favorite places on the planet. MM needed to complete his housing project by building a model of his chosen building. After going through all of my books, he chose a Syrian beehive house and chose to build it out of clay. Picking out the right clay took me, oh say, 5 minutes tops. The rest of the time I spent looking for a pastel in the right shade of apricot. This particular shade has been much on my mind, but I have been unable to find quite what I am looking for. This did not stop me from buying 13 different pastels in the hope that by some trick of blending I can get a warm apricot, suffused with pink, out of the lot of them. Of course, I have no idea what I will do with this color once I find it.

In the evening, I took EM to the dreaded mall for a round of mother-daughter shopping/bonding. She very much wanted to go buy camisoles to wear under her shirts. I am not totally certain why. It seems that some of the girls in her class have started wearing bra-like things. Hrrrrm. I know I was clueless when I was in the 4th grade, but I don't remember _anyone_ starting to develop at that point. And EM is certainly not developing right now. But it appears to be a Thing. So fine, I took her to the Limited Too and let her pick out some camis and other stuff. While she did her shopping, I went next door to the Limited and looked for black pants. This is something I highly recommend if a)you are female b)you feel like your ego is getting out of hand. Oh my god. Maybe my first clue should have been that most of the pants on the rack were size 0, 2, or 4. I did actually find a few pairs of pants my size and tried them on and even bought a couple of them, but what a brutal shopping experience. Wynn, I know you said that the sizes were shifted, but apparently someone didn't send the people at the Limited the memo.

"Well you know that it's going to be alright

I think it's gonna be alright

Everything will always be alright

When we go shopping"

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases