Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


stalling for perspective

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-02-03

10:52 a.m.
gifts

For me, this weekend was all about gifts. When I say gift, I don't necessarily mean present. While a gift _can_ have a physical aspect, the meaning is always more important than the actuality. Some of these gifts were small; others were enormous and have great meaning.

But the thing is, gifts are like words. Once you give them, you have no control over their interpretation. A gift that may have little or no meaning may mean everything to another. And likewise a gift that you give with great reverence and feeling, may mean little to the recipient. With one set of friends, I heard of the same gift given to two of them. One of them treated it very lightly and the other was deeply touched. Very puzzling for them. But the thing is, who knows what the original intent was?

So here is a list of just a few of the many, many gifts I received:

* being offered a ride, at some inconvenience, so that I wouldn't have to drive far after my dental extravaganza.

* finding that my friends had taken care of everything before I got there.

* being able to go take a nap during the middle of a Black Diamond event and not feel guilty about it.

* seeing someone I have cared for in the past finally be able to relax and even smile in my presence.

* finding out a friend shares my same feeling for a book.

* sitting around a table with many that I love and respect and sharing a good meal, not once but twice.

* and of course, seeing so many people that have meant, and still do mean, much in my life.

But the biggest gift I recieved this weekend was being allowed to give a gift to an old friend and know that it was received.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases