Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


a Morgan thingy

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-01-25

9:54 p.m.
rinse lather repeat

Yesterday was an interesting day in some ways. Sure it started out with the usual crap - grocery shopping, Target, and errands galore. Seems I spend my weekends spending all of the money made during the week. The Spousal Unit and I have an interesting division of labor on this. He makes the vast majority of our money and I spend it. I can't rememember the last time he went to the grocery store. And we live within two blocks of two of them.

It was also flower day. I went up to the Amish market and bought my flowers for the week. I just started doing that about 6 months ago and have found that it makes a big difference in my attitude. See, I was kind of annoyed that I had not received any flowers from the SU in quite a long time and decided that I would just take care of it myself. And so it has become a habit. It works well for both of us. I get the flowers I want and he gets to not go into a store.

So far, business as usual. But then, I went and got a facial in the afternoon. What a delight! This is something I do about once a year, but may now make it a quarterly thing. I figure it a fair exchange for my never going to a salon and having my hair messed with. Well, ok, that happens every other year or so to cut off my split ends. And last year I got it chopped after I busted my arm because I couldn't actually brush it all. But comparatively, I am pretty low maintenance. But a facial is something I could really get used to having done relatively often.

The only negative aspect to getting a facial was then being told what all I needed to buy for my face. Apparently, when the aesthetician (hah!) asks what you use at home saying a little of this and a little of that is the wrong answer. I was not aware that all of my "products" were supposed to match. Is this so that their boxes will look good together sitting under my sink? Yet another case of me failing Girl 101. I knew I had failed the makeup portion of the test, but I was unaware of this aspect of my feminine inadequacy. Yet another thing for me to stay up late worrying about. Not.

In the evening, I went to a party at my friend Eileen's house. This was also unusual because I tend to avoid events like this. But I said I would go so I was kind of stuck. For a while, it was hellish because I knew less than half the people there and it was pretty loud. Eventually things calmed down and became more manageable.

I spent most of the evening talking to the husband of another friend of mine and it turns out we have a lot more in common than I would have ever guessed. He was grossly generalizing and saying that when a man and woman engage in a physical contest, the man usually wins because he is stronger. I, politely, begged to differ with this viewpoint and so we begain to compare examples. It came out that he was a Dagohir (sp?) when he was in high school. I nearly fell off the sofa laughing. Of course, I can't laugh too hard - I was a Marklander back then.

Happy thought for the day: IMing with old friends is better than just about anything. I had just sat down to work when Squotter IMed me and we had a brief conversation about winged bears and propeller making and such. And now I will go to bed happy and dream of chickens.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases