Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


ugh

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-01-23

1:32 p.m.
a Morgan thingy

Well, life goes on. I survived my bout with the stomach virus. Usually I take a pass on these things. The whole house will have a cold or the flu, but I won't get it. Feh. I just see it as diversity in my weight-loss plan.

Spring semester starts on Monday and with it brings another round of dealing with the Morgan State bureaucracy. I tried to register for classes today over the web only to have the system tell me that I am not enrolled for classes this semester. Why? Who knows. It's a Morgan thing. In theory, they are going to correct this situation without it necessitating a trip to Baltimore. This would be a first. I can usually plan on spending about 5 hours at the start of every semester, shuffling from office to office in an attempt to get my stuff straight. Maybe it will be shorter this time. And then again, maybe monkeys will fly out my ass. (Always makes me think of Chaucer and his friar-farting devil.) Sorry, that really is pretty rude.

I still have nearly 200 pages of reading left to be done before next Friday. This textbook is killing me, though. Generally I enjoy reading densely written books, explaining difficult concepts. I really get a thrill out of puzzling out exactly what the author is trying to communicate and groking the greater concept. I feel like I have actually accomplished something and added to my body of knowledge. But this guy takes simple concepts and dresses them up in obtuse language. I struggle to the end of a difficult passage only to deduce that he is really just communicating a basic idea. Very poor writing and a total waste of my time. (Not that _I_ am ever guilty of overwriting. Moi? :*)

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases