Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


One of those days

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2003-11-07

9:28 a.m.
night meeting

Yesterday was a day. And like all other days, it was a day. (If you don't recognize this, it's ok. Some of us that were there wished we hadn't been and cringe upon remembrance of the occasion.)

Last night was our first worksession in front of the planning board and we were discussing density in a certain area of the county. It was absolutely excrutiating in that the project leader (not me!) decided he was going to try and gloss over issues and the board was not having any of it. Unlike Squotters planning board, ours is full of very sharp people who deal with very complicated landuse and political issues. They saw right through what Khalid was doing and handed us our lunch. In public. I mean, they were very nice about it, but if it were my project, I'd be feeling a little humiliated for not presenting adequate materials. The thing is, I prepared graphics that illustrate some of what they asked for, and Khalid elected not to use them. He has definitely made a tactical error on this and I am hoping to avoid the backlash. And no, I can't get off of this project. I was basically hired to work on it, as Khalid has pissed off many of the other people in our office. Fortunately my boss will look out for me.

So enough about the freakin work thing.

The good thing about losing weight is that you get to buy new clothes. The bad thing is that you then have to go shopping for them. And the really sucko thing is that some of your favorite clothes no longer fit. My favorite shirt is a funky asymmetrical dark purple on purple flowy thing. Used to fit like a glove. Now, it flaps. And of course, it is a unique item. Ah well. Time to go shopping. Anyone want to go with me? I have done ok on my own of late, though my last shoe shopping extravaganza was a bit disasterous. Apparently, your feet must be bound at a young age so that you can fit in high heels. What was I thinking?

I suppose I should actually do some work here. Got a hot date tonight. Finding Nemo and a pizza. Woohoo! I have such an exciting social life.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases