Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


schleppage whine

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2003-10-30

1:23 p.m.
ophthalmic musings

So maybe I was a little harsh about the mongols yesterday. I just really, really don't like being late to work. Mostly because Kathy (the nosy bitch who works next to me, but isn't at her desk right now) always looks at her watch or says something like "Oh, you're here after all." Since I am currently an hourly peon, it doesn't really matter what time I arrive as long as I don't miss any meetings. Kathy is just being annoying.

Anyway. Last night, I had to go to the optometrist to get EM's glasses fixed. I believe she has set some new record by losing and/or breaking 3 pairs in less than 8 months. While I was there, I was checking out the huge display of colored contact lenses. I find this whole concept to be vaguely disturbing and I'm not certain why. I don't wear contact lenses, so it isn't really a personal issue. (I'm one of those people that should never be allowed to wear them as I would probably end up with them fused to my eyeballs. My limited body awareness coupled with my lack of routine would spell certain disaster.) But why do colored contacts just seem Wrong? I mean, we wear clothes to enhance our bodies and they certainly lie about what shape we really are. Many women routinely paint their faces to make their features more appealing. I will confess to occasionally wearing mascara, as my eyelashes are quite light, and it definitely makes my eyes stand out. Maybe it is because our clothes and makeup announce our deceptions, but colored contacts do not. I mean, we all know that no adult has crimson lips. But do we ever truly know with eye color? This might seem like a completely trivial meandering. However, I place much reliance on people's eyes, as they are often far more revealing than what comes out of their mouths. And if the eyes start with a lie to begin with, is it possible to end with a truth?

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases