Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


Thursday, May 18

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2006-05-22

10:23 p.m.
Monday, May 22

Well and truly am I in a bad mood. Foul and most foul. Yes, it is my job. And no, I am not going to go on about it. The SU has already delivered a lecture to me on how he thinks I should do my job. I finally told him that he needed to go to bed. I was very close to saying something that might be unforgivable. Better to just keep my mouth closed.

For a little while, just long enough for me to get my hopes up, it looked like I was going to be able to go to Sapphire Joust. The SU is going to go because of stuff going on with an old friend so I thought we might all go. But then the reality of the trip hit me. I could spend the week getting stuff together for all of the mongols, which would involve the dreaded sewing of garb. And then I could spend ~ 2/3s of my time chasing mongols at the event, not get to fight in the tourney I want to, and stay in a hotel, as the SU doesn't camp. Seems like a nonstarter to me. Perhaps if the tourney was not at 10pm that night. Or we were staying onsite. But the cumulative does not add up to a good time. Better to just let him go and enjoy himself and make my plans for Pennsic.

And perhaps I will sit around the firepit in my backyard and watch the stars there. Maybe I can even get the YM to play his doumbek to add to the ambience. My own simulacrum.

Ok, so not a very good one. But I can pretend....

I guess a mongol roundup is in order. I have not been very good about writing about them of late. Perhaps a little less me would be a good thing.

So tomorrow I am going to go see the assistant principal at the EM's school. There is a girl in the EM's dance class who is making her life difficult and I need to find out what is going on. It seems that today, she decided that she needed to make the EM more "ghetto". By trying to get the EM to fight her. I am not certain what drugs this child is on but they seem to work well - she is hallucinating with the best of them. But she is causing problems in class so something needs to happen. This is not the first time she has accused the EM of saying "the b word" and tried to instigate something. Sigh.

Saturday night we took all three mongols and two of the EM's friends to see "Over the Hedge". What can I say - this was the first kid's movie that everyone in the family laughed at and enjoyed. William Shatner's overacting possum stole the show. And I personally enjoyed the skewering of suburbia. They could have gone farther with the evils of junk food, but that is just my opinion. Highly entertaining, regardless of age.

The YM has really been enjoying soccer this spring. He has more natural talent than either the EM or MM and when he is paying attention, does quite well. And the rest of the time he flies around playing airplane - a fine 6 year old game. The MM is a much more deliberate player. He has a very strong foot but he is not fast nor aggressive. Which is certainly ok. When you are built like a truck, sometimes it is better if you are a little more laid back.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases