Newest Tale

Older Tales

Mail the Herder

About the Mongols


Leave Me a Note


I drank 16 doubles for the price of one

hosted by DiaryLand.com


Tales from the Steppes


2004-12-03

11:34 p.m.
Grene growth the holy, so doth the ive

Tomorrow signals the start of Nutcracker Hell week. I am very lucky that EM doesn't have many roles and isn't dancing in all of the performances this year. As is, she has rehearsals Saturday, Sunday, Monday night, Tuesday night and a performance Wednesday, as well as performances next Saturday and Sunday. This would probably be enough going on to satisfy just about anyone. But unfortunately, I have had another situation of all of the stars lining up in the sky, producing truly a hellish week in all sectors. At work, I have a County Council worksession on Tuesday to prep for as well as an item in front of the Planning Board on Thursday. We'll see just how little I can go to work and still get everything done. For you see, it is also finals week for me at school. I have a twenty page paper due as well as an exam that will prevent me from going to the Wednesday performance.

Friday is EM's 10th birthday, which I find totally scary. First there is the issue that I have a child that is 10 years old. It just doesn't seem quite right. I guess time flew while I was having, errrrm, something? I'm not certain it was a "fun" decade but it was certainly diverting. And then there is the concept that Emma is soon to be a teenager. Shudder. Fortunately she has not started developing. I would say "knock on wood" but it really is more like "bang your head on a tree."

To celebrate her birthday, I got tickets for the Christmas Revels on Friday night. This was always one of my family's traditions when I was growing up but I have only tried it once with my kids. And that experience was enough for me to wait 5 years to try again. EM is a bit disappointed that I am not taking her to New York again on her birthday but there was just no way it was happening this year. As is, I am going to decorate her room so it will be ready when she comes home from school that day. She can't have her birthday party until the Nutcracker thing is over but it really should be quite enough of a birthday.

On Saturday, I have the dubious pleasure of hosting both my parents and in-laws at a Nutcracker performance. We have not seen either set for quite some time and this is the only time we will see them for the holidays. Both sets are travelling - my parents to Egypt, the in-laws to Tenessee. But the gathering on Saturday means that I need to have presents bought and wrapped for all four of them. And since they are all in the category of having enough money to buy whatever they want, this calls for true creativity. Which I have oh so much time to devote myself to. And I have to maintain parity since they will be together for the first time in maybe 5 years. Groan

Next Sunday night, when I am all done with this, I believe I will have a beer. Perhaps my traditional end of the semester Taddy Porter. Or even a Christmas Ale.

Past Few Tales


-

Thursday, October 26

Friday, October 20

Thursday, October 19

Wednesday, October 18


Upcoming raids


moon phases